# Christiania Ski Club 66th Annual General Meeting

Thursday 26 November 2020 at 6:00pm Venue: McMeekan Centre, Ruakura Research Centre

## Minutes

In attendance: Steve McLennan, Rachel Ward, Bryan Clements, Gary Verberne, Matt Holcoft, Jenny & Ross Muir, Ella Buckley & Hamish Paris, Kate Yeo, Amy Williams, Nick & Harry Plant, Andrew Hart, Simon Leadley, Mark Young

Welcome: Steve McLennan

**Apologies:** David Glenn, Doug and Doris Downs, Mary Jensen, Todd Hulbert, Vivian Oskam, Sarah Stone, Tanya Seivewright, Mark Farrell, Kerry Jones, Bob Buckley, Shane Clements, Greg Williams, Anthea Clements, Rom McLennan

#### **Confirmation of 2019 AGM minutes**

Moved: Bryan Clements Seconded: Gary Verberne All in favour? Yes

**Adoption of President's report** 

Moved: Steve McLennan Seconded: Ross Muir All in favour? Yes

Adoption of Treasurer's report and club accounts for the year ending 31st October 2020

Moved: Steve McLennan Seconded: Gary Verberne All in favour? Yes

There was discussion around donations made to the club early in the season, a request that they be accounted for separately and not simply assimilated into general funds. Agreed.

There was discussion around the depreciation item in the club accounts, and whether this is necessarily applicable to a not-for-profit organisation like Christiania. Club Treasurer to seek advice on this.

#### **Subscriptions and fees for 2021** – recommended as follows:

- Annual subscription for senior members: \$190 (an increase of \$20)
- Annual subscription for veteran members: \$95 (an increase of \$10)
- Annual subscription for junior members: \$50 (an increase of \$25)
- Annual subscription for associate members: \$35 (no change)
- Work party levy: \$190 (an increase of \$30), applies to senior and life-subscription members if the member does
  not attend a work party or equivalent committee-approved event
- Committee is given the discretion to set or waive joining fee, and set or waive early payment discount for subs or apply a late payment levy

Moved: Steve McLennan Seconded: Bryan Clements All in favour? Yes

**Appointment of Financial Reviewer** of Club accounts year ending 31 October 2020 – Graham Haines **Moved: Steve McLennan Seconded: Gary Verberne All in favour? Yes** 

#### Appointment of Club Solicitor for 2021 – Rodney Lewis

Moved: Steve McLennan Seconded: Ross Muir All in favour? Yes

## **Election of Officers** – nominations received to date:

- President: Steve McLennan (and Maintenance Lead)
- Vice President:
- Secretary:
- Treasurer: Kerry Jones
- Club Captain: Rachel Ward
- Deputy Club Captain: Ella Buckley
- General Committee: Gary Verberne (Membership and Web), Rik Fisk (booking system), Shane Clements (Maintenance sub committee), Nick Plant, Mariska van Heerden, Mark Young

Moved: Steve McLennan Seconded: Gary Verberne All in favour? Yes

#### **General Business:**

- Steve McLennan spoke briefly about a proposed significant increase of DoC levies.
- Gary spoke briefly about new booking system that he hopes will be in place for 2021 season
- Jenny Muir spoke about the difficulty she experiences nominating Party Leaders, that the membership may not be aware of the PL responsibilities, and the need for improvements in this area. Several suggestions noted for 2021
- Amy Williams thanked the committee and Jenny Muir for their work during the year.

Meeting Closed: 7:10PM

## Prize-giving:

Fastest Male Snowboarder (Muir Trophy): Bram Stevens

Fastest Female Snowboarder: Keara Mocke – (sp)

Most Improved Female: Isabel Oomans Most Improved Male: Thomas Oomans Fastest female under 8: Flora Stevens Fastest male under 8: Lachlan Jones

Fastest male under 16 (Meltzer Cup): Kea Meylan Fastest Junior under 14 (Sue Jarvis Trophy): Zoe Jones Fastest Masters Male (AH Carter Trophy): Kerry Jones Fasters Masters Female (Taylor Trophy): Vivian Oskam

Fastest Open Male: Hamish Paris Fastest Open Female: Ella Buckley

Club Races overall:

1st: Ella Buckley

2<sup>nd</sup>: Hamish Paris

3<sup>rd</sup>: Zoe Jones

Senior Lodgemanship: Jenny Muir

Special Award for Services to Christiania: Kate Yeo

Sportsmanship: Ella Buckley & Hamish Paris